WeTek Community Forum

[BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

24

Comments

  • tdw197tdw197 Posts: 356WeTek Community Member
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    One suggestion, if possible, in a similar way to how you fixed wetek theatre app tot he adroid tv menu, could you do the same for kodi? I would imagine the vast amount of wetek users will be using kodi daily.

    Edit - never mind again, i see after sideloading it fixes itself there :)
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    kodi 14.0 has a problem with "mx" (the dual core) amlogic soc, it zooms in the video if the device is set to 1080p, no problem if it's set at 720p, there's a ticket (still opened?) on xbmc's github regarding that
  • tdw197tdw197 Posts: 356WeTek Community Member
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play
    kodi 14.0 has a problem with "mx" (the dual core) amlogic soc, it zooms in the video if the device is set to 1080p, no problem if it's set at 720p, there's a ticket (still opened?) on xbmc's github regarding that

    That's fixed in Kodi 14.1 RC (using it right now, and its very good).

    However.... now you mentioned this i just tried wetek theater and it has this problem, its not there in official wetek play android though
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    I've been using WeTek Theater on a daily basis and it never happened, maybe it's triggered by Kodi? Try to reboot and using the theater and see if it happens


    edit: damn it's starting doing on my side as well, that's incredible since I have been using the theater pretty much all the time to test some stuff :shock: will have to investigate into it :shock:
  • tdw197tdw197 Posts: 356WeTek Community Member
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play
    I've been using WeTek Theater on a daily basis and it never happened, maybe it's triggered by Kodi? Try to reboot and using the theater and see if it happens


    edit: damn it's starting doing on my side as well, that's incredible since I have been using the theater pretty much all the time to test some stuff :shock: will have to investigate into it :shock:

    Sorry! Just trying a reboot now.

    There's something weird with the kodi passthrough audio settings too (happens in xbmc on official build too), where it seems work first time and then outputs horrible static any time after, it doesn't do it in OpenElec. Very odd.

    All in all though, this build seems soooo much better than the official wetek android - its faster, kodi runs much smoother, the interface is much nicer - its very very good!
  • tdw197tdw197 Posts: 356WeTek Community Member
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    Done a bit more testing, it seems the first channel on starting wetek theater from cold always works fine. Any channel subsequently tuned (including going back to first channel) always does the weird screen thing. Fully exiting wetek theater then going back in results in the first channel showing correctly,

    HTH
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    I tracked down the zooming in thing in WeTek Theater, it happens when a new dialog is created (channel list, epg, etc), I'm working with the guys developing the app to find a solution.
    I think it might be cause by the mali libraries that are too old for Lollipop, trying a few workarounds in a new rom that is currently building to see if it's caused by that
  • tdw197tdw197 Posts: 356WeTek Community Member
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    Hmm, spoke to soon on kodi, after a reboot video and audio stutters. A real shame as it was working perfectly after install :(
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    if audio and video stutters you're playing in sw mode, I'd keep using Gotham 13.2 that is working very good on Android/Amlogic

    edit: consider that play store might be doing some upgrades behind the scenes (it's a first install so some apps will probabky be updated) and if it starts lagging with no reason it might be because of that, you can see with some third party app the cpu consumption (in that case both cores are maxed out)
  • tdw197tdw197 Posts: 356WeTek Community Member
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play
    if audio and video stutters you're playing in sw mode, I'd keep using Gotham 13.2 that is working very good on Android/Amlogic

    edit: consider that play store might be doing some upgrades behind the scenes (it's a first install so some apps will probabky be updated) and if it starts lagging with no reason it might be because of that, you can see with some third party app the cpu consumption (in that case both cores are maxed out)

    I've done a reinstall of kodi and it seems ok atm, passthrough working too.

    Still not 100% Kodi have fixed the frame buffer issue for 1080p playback, but so far its looking good.

    Thanks for all your help, can't reiterate enough how good this build is :)
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    One thing that you might notice, is that if you use an app that tries to use openmax (libstagefright) before android media framework (libmediaplayerservice) will make mediaserver process crash, once this process has crashed you need a reboot to have it working properly again (kodi should be immune to that because "talks" with the kernel directly, without using android apis).
    That crash will go away once a stock rom based on kitkat and sporting the 3.10 kernel will be released so I'll be able to use that newer kernel that has tons of updates and finally includes a (basic) support for openmax
  • tdw197tdw197 Posts: 356WeTek Community Member
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    Tracked down the problem and the cause is most bizarre.. Installing the plexbmc helper addon causes the stuttering! It's weird, as it uses virtually no resources (I use it in all my Raspberry pis), but enabling it causes the stutter!

    Odd, using the same addon on stock wetek didn't cause the issue either, nor did it cause an issue using the same addon with the same kodi 14.1 app on fire TV.
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    Try posting a logcat
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    I just wanted to let you know that I found a way to fix that issue on WeTek Theater, during the weekend I'll update the roms ;)
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    * ROM 2015-01-10
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    This build includes a kernel that I've built from sources, disabling an option that was hogging the cpu when a network service was binding on the localhost interface (hopefully all the other things will keep working, I don't know how far it is respect the kernel used by latest WeTek OS roms, in case I'll ask for updated sources).
    Acestream, for example, was unusable because of this, now it works like a charm (tested under Kodi 14.1 RC and latest P2P-Streams, right now SopCast shipped with that addon doesn't work with Lollipop)
    Included CEC settings under Settings -> WeTek Settings, untested because I have any cec capable device. It should work because it's just a matter about writing some stuff to the proper sysfs file and let the kernel handle it.
    Fixed a problem that might happen when quitting from daydream (the screensaver) that was sending the device to sleep (I don't know why it happened, it wasn't doing it when I tested daydream in early builds but some upstream changes might have changed something)

    * ROM 2015-01-11
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    Final fix for the zoom in issue on WeTek Theater. I tried to be nice, but I had to do it the hard way... now it won't happen anymore, it's practically impossible :) (I hope!!)

    * ROM 2015-01-12
  • radumxradumx Posts: 12WeTek Community Member
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    Hi CT,
    congratulations for your work, this is the best and most stable version yet, but I found some problems:
    - Wetek theater does not display subtitles on some channels, even if it looks like is available
    -channel sorting does not work
    -at leave application, remains somewhat in background wetek theater app, and they pass on YouTube for example, from a clip to another one second appears TV channel watched at closing the theater application, possibly as good included a task killer app or something.
    cordially
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    The whole subtitle thing is closed source from amlogic and is not supported on any Android version above 4.2 (I'm 3 major versions above the stock rom so something won't work unless both version are running the same Android base), subtitle support has been removed at all because on Lollipop it's completely broken and makes FC WeTek Theater at start.

    For channel sorting, I will report it to one of the guys developing WeTek Theater, but in the meantime try to flash this zip that includes an updated version of the Theater and tell me if it still happens.

    The other thing seems to be normal and related to the way that amlogic has implemented video playback. There are two framebuffers, one for the UI (fb0) and one for video playback (fb1), ATV's launcher, I don't know why, sets opacity to 0 when launching apps (but not all of them, I've noticed it mainly with kodi), that shows the underlying fb1 that has the last frame played.
    There's an option in amlogic code to show/hide the last played frame but according to my tests it doesn't do nothing, but I will give a look into it, it's only cosmetic though or does it affect something?
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    I just wanted to let you know that I fixed that cosmetic issue, I've even told about that to WeTek Theater devs and they will include the patch in WeTek Theater, for now I'm going to override it from the main java framework.
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    Workaround for the last frame of the last channel played on WeTek Theater that was visible when launching some apps (like Kodi), it's just cosmetic and will be handled better when the new WeTek Theater will be released (I told them to put the modification straight in the Theater's code, when quitting the app)
    Added support for link2sd, if you wanna use it prepare a microsd card using the new cwm (be careful, all data on it will be destroyed) and install link2sd from play store (or sideload it, whatever you prefer)

    * ROM 2015-01-13
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    Fixed a problem that was preventing the device from getting network access when setting a static ip for the ethernet connection (it worked fine if you unplug/plug the eth cable once changed the ip, or reboot the box, now it's not needed anymore)
    Other minor things

    * ROM 2015-01-15
  • porroporro Posts: 2WeTek Community Member
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    Hello CristianTroy,

    as far as you know are we obliged to use theater TV? No offence to app developer but it is far away from a PVR basic app...Is it possible to use live TV in kodi and take advantage of its functions?

    I bought the device for my parents that mostly use PVR functions but honestly it is unusable for that purpose. I'm going crazy to find some DVBT channels in OpenElec (scan fail) and in Android TV the only theatre TV is very limited.

    Bye
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    AFAIK there's a work in progress regarding the port of tvheadend to Android (if I'm correct it's a matter of the dvb drivers that have been updated in the 3.10 kernel used by openelec and that are fully dvb-api compliant, while those in use by Android's WeTek build need further work for it), until then you can't use anything else.

    Anyway I can assure you that WeTek Theater is in a very active development so things might change, but I hope that the working tvheadend could be used soon since many people would prefer Kodi anyway.
  • rhartingerrhartinger Posts: 156WeTek Community Member
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    Can I install on a SC Card like Openelec?The download doesnt work
  • AdministratorAdministrator Posts: 355Administrator - WeTek Community Manager, WeTek Community Member
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    Hello rhatinger,

    All ok with download link:

    http://prntscr.com/5w716f
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play
    rhartinger wrote:
    Can I install on a SC Card like Openelec?

    Have a look here -> http://www.freaktab.com/showthread.php? ... T-PICTURES
  • rhartingerrhartinger Posts: 156WeTek Community Member
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    is this the correct thread which you wnt to show me
  • ChristianTroyChristianTroy Posts: 1,913WeTek Community Member, Developers
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    That links to an apk and some images that show **** running (you can use it as **** client to connect to a cardserver)
  • myllemylle Posts: 12WeTek Community Member
    Re: [BETA][5.0.2] Android TV (CM12 based) for WeTek Play

    Hi guys,

    Wanted to update my wetek play (android tv) yesterday but ran into a few issues.

    1. To update you have to enable developer options and chose reboot into recovery from here. I enable the developer options but the option to enable reboot to recovery is nowhere to be found?
    2 instead i booted into recovery (twrp) from my sdcard did a wipe and the proceeded to the install option to install the latest zip image and gapps. Now however unlike the first initial install nothing shows up on the sdcard and i cannot mount it. TWRP does not give an error. it just looks like the sdcard is empty :( Tried with CWM recover but when chosing SDcard im just told "error mounting SD card" :( Recovery loads just fine from the sdcard and im also able to boot openelec (other sdcard) sp obviously the sdcard slot is working.

    Help :)

    /Jacob
Sign In or Register to comment.
© Copyright 2014 - Creative Dreams | Powered by Vanilla
All times are UTC