WeTek Community Forum

Ubuntu 16.04 Mate & Minimal for WeTek Play 2

2

Comments

  • the_ripperthe_ripper Posts: 28WeTek Community Member
    @lmza
    Wetek Play 1 and Play2 use the same firmware, so its strange you got crash. Can you check md5 sums for firmware files ...
  • lmzalmza Posts: 21WeTek Community Member
    @the_ripper

    The problem is that the dvb-fe-avl6211.fw from the Wetek Play 2 LibreElec crashes the system. About 5KB in size.

    The old Wetek Play 1 dvb-fe-avl6211.fw I found in the previous post is about 10KB in size, and allows me to lock.

    Where can I download the current official dvb-fe-avl6211.fw file from for Wetek?

    Thank you.
  • the_ripperthe_ripper Posts: 28WeTek Community Member
    @lmza
    Here you can find firmware http://sources.libreelec.tv/devel/wetekdvb-20160930.tar.xz, tuner/demod code is the same as on LE, must be some different thing, try enabling dynamic debug in kernel config to enable full dbg printk mode from code.
  • lmzalmza Posts: 21WeTek Community Member
    I have been struggling with a problem for the last two weeks and I am no closer to a solution.

    With WP1 we successfully were able to receive MPE IP DVB packets on DVB-S and already deployed this onto a couple of hundred WP1s running Ubuntu. Although if I recall we did use Enigma wetekdvb driver and kernel for Ubuntu image on WP1.

    I am trying to replicate the same setup on WP2 using Ubuntu again, but without any success.

    With WP2, I am able to successfully lock onto satellite using the provided wetekdvb driver and firmware on the WP2 Ubuntu release (thanks to @the_ripper )

    I can use szaps2 from Crazycat (same as we used in WP1) OR dvbv5-zap from v4l-utils and both get lock on the DVB-S carrier.

    dvbsnoop shows the mpe data packets are present and has the correct format for the dvb_net filter (==> Section table: 62 (0x3e) [= DSM-CC - private data section // DVB datagram])

    I was also able to successfully create a dvb net interface using dvbnet -p PID (from dvb-apps), but we are unable to receive/process any MPE IP multicast data packets even in promiscious mode.

    If I tune using szaps2 and bring up the dvb0_0 interface for example with:
    ifconfig dvb0_0 hw ether 00:18:bd:5b:49:db 10.235.235.235 netmask 255.255.255.255 promisc up
    The WP2 crashes immediately and WP2 has to be manually restarted.

    If I tune using dvbv5-zap and bring up the dvb0_0 interface with the same ifconfig command, the WP2 does not crash but it still does not receive/process any MPE data packets. I can even see the bandwidth stats increase for the data packets in dvbv5-zap for the data PID, but the ifconfig stats for dvb0_0 however always remain at zero.

    Things I have tried:
    1. Disabled the reverse path filters as this is the standard config step (echo 0 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf/all/rp_filter), but still no data shows in tcpdump
    2. add additional printk statements to dvb_net.c (dvb_core) and recompiled kernel. All the additional generated messages seem to be in order and there are no errors. Filtering does start accroding to dvb_net.
    3. enabled dynamic kernel debugging, but seeing that the wetekdvb is proprietary, as soon as it loads it taints the kernel and no further debugging messages are generated
    4. used the dvb_net.c from kernel 3.10.xx which worked with WP1 and recompiled, but same problem persists.

    szaps2 is using dvbv3 api and dvbv5-zap uses dvbv5 api, but I do not think this is the problem as dvbv3 is only depereciated from kernel 3.3. Can the wetekdvb driver work with both versions?

    Also, I wonder why the wetekdvb.ko driver creates 3 network dvb devices. Could this be the problem as the filter might be initialized om wrong netX device? Should there not be just one net0 device for an adapter?
    ls /dev/dvb/adapter0/ -hal
    total 0
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 240 Feb 11 2016 .
    drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 60 Feb 11 2016 ..
    crw-rw---- 1 root video 212, 4 Feb 11 2016 demux0
    crw-rw---- 1 root video 212, 20 Feb 11 2016 demux1
    crw-rw---- 1 root video 212, 36 Feb 11 2016 demux2
    crw-rw---- 1 root video 212, 5 Feb 11 2016 dvr0
    crw-rw---- 1 root video 212, 21 Feb 11 2016 dvr1
    crw-rw---- 1 root video 212, 37 Feb 11 2016 dvr2
    crw-rw---- 1 root video 212, 3 Feb 11 2016 frontend0
    crw-rw---- 1 root video 212, 7 Feb 11 2016 net0
    crw-rw---- 1 root video 212, 23 Feb 11 2016 net1
    crw-rw---- 1 root video 212, 39 Feb 11 2016 net2
    Very frustrating as I am unable to make any progress. Any suggestions or input would be appreciated. :'(
  • lmzalmza Posts: 21WeTek Community Member
    @the_ripper

    It is working with the new driver :)

    What is the main difference in this new driver compared to the previous one?

    I probably should have asked you sooner for assistance, would have saved me some time in troubleshooting. :D
  • the_ripperthe_ripper Posts: 28WeTek Community Member
    @lmza

    It was "RAW" driver for sending data direct to DVR device for LibreElec and his DVB addons, jumping over any filters ...
  • picolopicolo Posts: 9WeTek Community Member
    Hi,
    Ubuntu mate is good but no internal wifi and bluetooth.
    If a genius can make an image with btw wetek modules or explain how to proceed, i will be very pleased.

    PS: dual boot can be too a good option for a next release.
  • the_ripperthe_ripper Posts: 28WeTek Community Member
    @picolo
    Check with lsmod is dhd module loaded
  • lmzalmza Posts: 21WeTek Community Member
    edited October 2016

    @lmza
    Dont know if in LE is activated LED control for LAN/WIFI so we can borrow it ?

    I did install LibreELEC-WeTek_Play2.aarch64-7.1.0.DVB.img.gz and the front Wifi and LAN LEDs are also dead.

    I can not see the LAN and Wifi LED classes in /sys/class either. So LEDs are also not enabled in LE.

  • the_ripperthe_ripper Posts: 28WeTek Community Member
    @lmza

    Check my commit about LEDs https://github.com/wetek-enigma/linux-amlogic/commit/97b221a96c442e8d9e1198b52eb3bf502c663329 it's for LE kernel, but ASAP I need to see if can be pushed to odroid forked kernel one for Wetek.

    Thx.
  • ozkaradagozkaradag Posts: 586WeTek Community Member
    Dear the ripper,

    Does it would benefit us?
    http://www.tbsdtv.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=199&t=10067

    Sincerelly...
  • the_ripperthe_ripper Posts: 28WeTek Community Member
    @ozkaradag
    Install one of the Ubuntu images and try this commands on this link
  • ozkaradagozkaradag Posts: 586WeTek Community Member
    Unfortunelly i dont try because i haven't WP2 yet. :smile:

    Sincerelly...
  • picolopicolo Posts: 9WeTek Community Member
    @the_ripper

    With lsmod, I see :
    Module Size Used by
    fuse 88726 3
    zram 18287 4
    lz4_decompress 2712 1 zram
    lz4_compress 2961 1 zram
    joydev 10999 0
    hid_logitech 21203 0
    ff_memless 5061 1 hid_logitech
    i2c_gpio 4304 0
    gxbb_wdt 3419 0
    dhd 864361 0
    cfg80211 472770 1 dhd
    ipv6 375777 52
    autofs4 28145 2
  • the_ripperthe_ripper Posts: 28WeTek Community Member
    Hello @picolo
    so dhd module is loaded,

    what 'dmesg' log command say, is firmware loaded, what about 'ifconfig' command ?
    Check if 'iwconfig' command is there, if not install it 'sudo apt-get install wireless-tools' ?
    Does command: 'sudo iwlist wlan0' scan works?

    There is many command you can try and see what's going on , ofcourse if you are advance Linux user.
  • QuadbeatQuadbeat Posts: 188WeTek Community Member
    edited October 2016
    Updated 1st post with latest release of Ubuntu 16.04 LTS minimal image which include following changes:
    • Login with root/wetek credentials is fixed
    • Wi-Fi is working (ifconfig wlan0 up , iwlist wlan0 scan)
    • Bluetooth is working (hciconfig -a, hcitool scan)
    • DVB driver fully functional
    • Added LED's control
    • Kernel synced with latest Odroid changes 3.14.79 https://github.com/theripper/linux/tree/wetek-3.14.y
    • apt-get is fully functional now
  • ozkaradagozkaradag Posts: 586WeTek Community Member
    Great news.

    Thanks mate.

    Sincerelly...
  • picolopicolo Posts: 9WeTek Community Member
    Great thanks for this update.
    Now wifi and bluetooth are good.
    I have just a problem with the sound : no optical / SPDIF output.
  • the_ripperthe_ripper Posts: 28WeTek Community Member
    Hi @picolo
    you can try to play with this settings below, in Amlogic code spdif/HDMI passthrough is not enabled default and I hope this settings will work for you

    echo 1 > /sys/class/audiodsp/digital_raw
    echo 2 > /sys/class/audiodsp/digital_codec
    echo audio_on > /sys/class/amhdmitx/amhdmitx0/config
    echo spdif_unmute > /sys/devices/platform/spdif_codec/spdif_mute
  • QuadbeatQuadbeat Posts: 188WeTek Community Member
    Updated first post with download url for minisatip binary, for those who would like to run minisatip as SAT>IP server at WeTek Play 2 running on Ubuntu 16.04.
  • ozkaradagozkaradag Posts: 586WeTek Community Member
    Thanks mate.

    Sincerelly...
  • lmzalmza Posts: 21WeTek Community Member
    Hi @the_ripper

    I refer to the post on 11 Oct, where DVB data was enabled for WP2 dvb module. We have replicated our complete setup we had with WP1, except we have one problem we can not seem to resolve.

    We use Wetek to receive IP UDP multicast data through the virtual wetek dvb0_0 interface and the forward the same multicast out on eth0 using smcroute. The whole process works, except we experience some packet loss as reported by the multicast client. Using the exact same delivery path, if we take out the WP2 and replace it directly with our WP1, we get zero packet loss. (WP1 has old 3.10.77 kernel with Enigma wetekdvb module and ubuntu 14.04)

    The packet loss with WP2 is about 1% at a very low 64Kbps multicast stream. If we increase the transmit rate the packet loss also increases. At high transmit rates on WP1 we still do not see any packet loss.

    With WP2 we experience the same packet loss with the 3.14.77 and 3.14.79 kernels (minimal ubuntu). I also tried using the kernel and wetekdvb module from the Openatv (3.14.29) which was released today for WP2. Still packet loss.

    It seems to me this problem is buffer related, but I can not find clear evidence of this.

    I have also tried to tweak the kernel network settings, for example:
    sysctl -w net.core.rmem_max=31457280
    sysctl -w net.core.wmem_max=31457280
    sysctl -w net.core.optmem_max=25165824
    sysctl -w net.ipv4.udp_mem="262144 327680 393216"
    sysctl -w net.ipv4.udp_rmem_min=16384
    sysctl -w net.ipv4.udp_wmem_min=16384
    sysctl -w net.core.netdev_max_backlog=2000
    sysctl -p

    It still does not prevent the random packet loss.

    My question is, is there anything in the wetekdvb module that could be dropping packets? Perhaps a buffer setting that could be increased for data reception? The other major difference between the WP2 and WP1 is the ubuntu releases (14.04 32bit and 16.04 64bit), although I can not find any reference that the packet loss could be linked to 16.04.

    BTW, thank you for fixing LAN + WiFi LEDs in 3.14.79

    Thank you.
  • fantocyfantocy Posts: 6WeTek Community Member
    Hi.
    I am trying ubuntu 16.04 minimal on WP2 boot from sd card. WP2 start boot, .....boot....boot, then follows restart. This was repeated all round.
  • lmzalmza Posts: 21WeTek Community Member
    As per my post on 15 Dec. After many days of troubleshooting we are just about ready to give up on the Wetek Play 2 as a result of the 1-3% packet loss issue. We have tried tweaking the kernel settings, but still no luck, the packet loss problem persists. We can not prove of find where the packets are being dropped, so we have come to the conclusion it must be with the wetek dvb module or in the kernel before the data reaches the virtual dvb interface.

    As mentioned before, using the same satellite feed and same configuration on the Wetek Play 1, we get 0% packet loss.

    On the Wetek Play 2, when we dump the packets on the virtual dvb interface, the packets must already be lost as no "missing bytes" errors are reported. So corrupt partial packets are not created, complete packets are being dropped.

    dvbsnoop also does not report any "Discontinuity Counter Errors", so this is not the problem. There are no kernel errors in logs saying that packets were dropped. These messages should be generated by dvb_net if it was the case.

    So we have run out of options. If anyone has any advice on how to troubleshoot the wetekdvb module to determine if this is the cause, I would really appreciate it.

    If there was Wetek Play 1 stock available to buy, it will not be a problem and we will still be using it, but seeing there is none, we have to try and get Wetek Play 2 to work.
  • the_ripperthe_ripper Posts: 28WeTek Community Member
    @lmza
    Hello, Play1 and Play2 share the same dvb module/code so I think its not there problem.

    Don't know if you could set filter and record PID where this IP Packets are sending and then in "offline" mode try to parse packets but then again you mention dvbsnoop doesnt report any errors.
  • zbigzbig20zbigzbig20 Posts: 934WeTek Community Member
    I think something is wrong with dvb-s2 tuner or dvb driver on play 2 because I had some problems with few transponders on hotbird 13e . I tested dvb-s2 tuner from my play1 with play 2 (replaced) and tested it on android (weos). Signal was much better and all transponders works good on hotbird with this same sat installation
  • FlattermannFlattermann Posts: 1WeTek Community Member
    Hi, would it be possible to have the Ubuntu installation in the NAND memory of the Play2?
  • lmzalmza Posts: 21WeTek Community Member
    @zbigzbig20

    As you suggested, I did try to use WP1 tuner in WP2. Everything loads fine at boot time in Ubuntu and /dev/dvb was created. I was however unable to get a lock on Ant1 or Ant2. I tried to get lock with demux0, demux1 and demux2. WP2 tuner has RF IN and RF OUT. So Ant2 on WP1 tuner is same position as RF IN on WP2 tuner, but maybe the NIM config in kernel is different in Ubuntu than in WEOS and that is why it does not want to lock.

    On which port of the WP1 play tuner inside WP2 were you able to get it working? Ant1 or Ant2?
  • lmzalmza Posts: 21WeTek Community Member
    @zbigzbig20

    As you suggested, I did try to use WP1 tuner in WP2. Everything loads fine at boot time in Ubuntu and /dev/dvb was created. I was however unable to get a lock on Ant1 or Ant2. I tried to get lock with demux0, demux1 and demux2. WP2 tuner has RF IN and RF OUT. So Ant2 on WP1 tuner is same position as RF IN on WP2 tuner, but maybe the NIM config in kernel is different in Ubuntu than in WEOS and that is why it does not want to lock.

    On which port of the WP1 play tuner inside WP2 were you able to get it working? Ant1 or Ant2?
Sign In or Register to comment.
© Copyright 2014 - Creative Dreams | Powered by Vanilla
All times are UTC