WeTek Community Forum

LibreELEC (Krypton) v8.0.0 RELEASE

nilleiznilleiz Posts: 79WeTek Community Member
Well the wait is over.
The LibreELEC 8 final release is out.

Changes since 7.95.3 include:

Fix for TVheadend issues in the WeTek Play 2 DVB driver
Fix for interactive governor causing slowdown issues on the WeTek Core
Fix for missing Bluetooth “connect and trust” option when pairing
Fix for missing ir-keytable streamzap support after recent changes
Updates to refine lirc repeat timing changes
Update WeTek Play 2 remote keymap to expose more buttons
Updates to linux-amlogic 3.10 (arm) and 3.14 (aarch64) kernels
Add hexdump busybox applet needed for Odroid_C2 overclocking

I am going to try it out tonight and report my experience over the next days.
«13

Comments

  • WhoAmIWhoAmI Posts: 119WeTek Community Member
    I for one look forward to hearing your assessments. Not willing to try it out just yet but eager to hear how others get on first. Good luck.
  • bohemibohemi Posts: 19WeTek Community Member
    So far it looks to be stable, I only see my wired network connection needs more buffering while running live TV streams from a local server (DVB Link) but I would say that needs more testing. At least so far not the issues I had with the Beta release.
  • jamesdmjamesdm Posts: 20WeTek Community Member
    The slow gui after a time still present.
  • JunoxeJunoxe Posts: 111WeTek Community Member
    Still sound distortions over USB audio in this version.
  • nilleiznilleiz Posts: 79WeTek Community Member
    For me the live tv seems to have less problems with playing. Also HW acceleration does work with h.264 live tv channels now, what did not work before (for me at least).
    The seeking (rw, ff) and jumping in videos does work much better than before in my opinion.
    I'll report back when I experience more
  • Wink_DinkersonWink_Dinkerson Posts: 54WeTek Community Member
    edited February 2017
    Installed LEv8 yesterday and watching a movie via attached usb3 and NAS was smooth.
    FF/RW if used more than a few times (as in searching for a scene) caused movie/gui to freeze.
    Audio problems when listening to music (popping and poor quality) via usb3 and NAS.

    I upgraded and tested on two Cores. Both were upgraded via GUI then reinstalled "clean" via mSD card. Unfortunately the problems occurred in both the upgraded and clean installs.
  • nilleiznilleiz Posts: 79WeTek Community Member
    I have to take back what I said about live tv buffering. Sadly I indeed have problems with playback stopping to buffer now and then.
    rewinding 10 seconds with timeshift enabled fixes the problem. buffer seems to be too small for livetv.
  • zaraczarac Posts: 1WeTek Community Member
    Installed clean LE8 on SD because Android KODI Krypton dropped hw acceleration for our device. Now HDMI-CEC (which worked perfectly in Android) randomly starts and stops. Also, KODI GUI comes to a crawl after some time - only reboot helps.
  • lukcineklukcinek Posts: 109WeTek Community Member
    For me...
    New release works like a charm!
    Best regards to all the crew
  • WhoAmIWhoAmI Posts: 119WeTek Community Member
    So far so good for me also. Fresh sd card install (being cautious in case something didn't work and I had need to revert to previous version) and tested using a library of my own purchased dvd movies copied to hard disk drive. I changed skin to Xonfluence (a mod of Confluence) as I prefer the options it gives to customise my menus etc over what Estuary offers (or doesn't offer). I've used the new update for streaming some tv and up to now can report no issues. Will update further if I notice any downsides but at this moment its a big thumbs up from me.
  • Wink_DinkersonWink_Dinkerson Posts: 54WeTek Community Member
    edited February 2017
    @lukcinek & @WhoAmI
    I attempted to do some of the "fixes" mentioned throughout the previous versions. One of the "things to try" was to change the skin. While the Cores were running (LE v8) I was never able to keep the Cores running long enough (stable) to locate a better skin. I attempted to change from Estuary to Confluence but the skin change would not take effect.
    Another issue using v8 was gui would freeze then Core would reboot itself. Hoping it had somehow updated but the Cores' GUI would eventually freeze or become painfully slow.
    Reinstalled LE v7.0.3 which is still working for my Cores.

  • WhoAmIWhoAmI Posts: 119WeTek Community Member
    I had no problems going through and testing different skins. I have however went back to 7.0.3 because as time went on the Core gui reduced to a snails pace.

    I honestly don't see why people want to jump so quickly for Krypton when Jarvis is working so well and offers just about all that Krypton does.

    I have one question. On all other versions of Libreelec (or Kodi itself) when playing back a video file I was able to press 'ok' on my keyboard and bring up the video controls menu (ffw/rew/play etc). This also included the options to change audio, video settings (brightness and contrast etc), subtitles, and bookmarks. How do I get to that screen now (if it exists)?. As it stands I now can't gain access to the 'stop' button for instance and have to press 'back' to get out of a file. Also, if I play half of a video file and back out, when I press play from the video file menu again I don't get an option to resume (this also worked in previous versions).

    I'm currently not as impressed with this version as I initially was.
  • NedScottNedScott Posts: 1,123WeTek Community Member
    WhoAmI said:

    I had no problems going through and testing different skins. I have however went back to 7.0.3 because as time went on the Core gui reduced to a snails pace.

    I honestly don't see why people want to jump so quickly for Krypton when Jarvis is working so well and offers just about all that Krypton does.

    I have one question. On all other versions of Libreelec (or Kodi itself) when playing back a video file I was able to press 'ok' on my keyboard and bring up the video controls menu (ffw/rew/play etc). This also included the options to change audio, video settings (brightness and contrast etc), subtitles, and bookmarks. How do I get to that screen now (if it exists)?. As it stands I now can't gain access to the 'stop' button for instance and have to press 'back' to get out of a file. Also, if I play half of a video file and back out, when I press play from the video file menu again I don't get an option to resume (this also worked in previous versions).

    I'm currently not as impressed with this version as I initially was.

    Long-press OK for the OSD controls. You can also long-press left and right for rr/ww, long-press up/down for change language and subtitles, and "back" should default to "stop" (long-press back will go back to menu without stopping video).

    I'm not sure why resume isn't working. That should still be the same, so it might be a bug or something strange going on.


    former WeTek Support team member, now just a friendly volunteer.
  • WhoAmIWhoAmI Posts: 119WeTek Community Member
    @NedScott
    1st off I wish to retract a statement I made above ("I honestly don't see why people want to jump so quickly for Krypton when Jarvis is working so well and offers just about all that Krypton does").

    Your response to my playback and OSD issues have solved it for me. It was so simple in the end. The long press of the 'ok' button does work as you correctly said it would.

    You said the 'resume' feature may be a bug? I honestly can't say now as I've tested the feature this morning and its now working. I'm now being asked whether to begin at start or to resume partially watched files. The only thing I can think of is that pressing 'back' instead of using the OSD to press 'stop' (which I prefer anyway) could make that behaviour different.

    Thank you Ned. You now have me back in the LE8.0.0 camp. So far for me everything working very well now you've helped me locate the OSD controls.
  • Mr_ScoopsMr_Scoops Posts: 18WeTek Community Member
    I think 8.0 might actually work fine with 23.976 stuff?

    I have had two hard crashes with a 720p 23.81 file on 8.0. I have no idea how common that framerate is. I only watch one reality show (Top Chef) and that's the framerate it seems to come in. I already sent some logs to codesnake.

    I'm just finally glad that I can fast-forward and rewind without having to stop the file and restart and also have (I think/hope) smooth 23.976 playback. If it only crashes on 23.81 stuff, I'll settle for that at this point.

  • Wink_DinkersonWink_Dinkerson Posts: 54WeTek Community Member
    edited February 2017
    After reading that others are having positive results with LE v8 I gave my Core another chance.
    I did a factory reset on my Core and I did a clean install of LE today Install seemed to be up & working. I was able to change skins, install/delete (skins & add-ons), and Core is "playing nice" with Core :)
    I thought that all was well so I did same with my other Core (factory reset etc). Unfortunately I experienced the same problems as earlier with the Core (frozen or slowing to a crawl). For now I will leave this Core on 7.0.3.
    My Cores are working & that is really all that matters. B)

    @WhoAmI
    "I honestly don't see why people want to jump so quickly for Krypton when Jarvis is working so well and offers just about all that Krypton does."
    Have you found an answer to your question? I am curious what changes/differences Core users of LE v8 have found compared to older LE versions?
    I jumped to the latest version to "see" what was new and see what improvements had been made. I was a user of OpenElec for years, and LibreElec has become the "replacement" of OE.


  • WhoAmIWhoAmI Posts: 119WeTek Community Member
    @Wink_Dinkerson
    I have already retracted that quote in a follow up post from earlier today. I also have jumped ship recently from OE to LE.
    @NedScott gave me a response to my queries re the playback controls and OSD. I've got it working now and very pleased with the outcome. To date I can now say that everything I've thrown at LE8.0.0 on the Core has performed exactly as it did on Libreelec Jarvis.
  • Wink_DinkersonWink_Dinkerson Posts: 54WeTek Community Member
    edited February 2017
    Questions regarding LE settings in v8:
    Do you have hw acceleration Active or Off?
    I currently have my hw set to Off & with limited viewing/testing there seems to be little effect to quality with setting to Off.

    My question is whether or not there is a preferred setting, since there was such a drama with the kodi/amlogic support being removed, and the problems experienced during the beta testing of the latest LE?
    FYI -
    My set ups are LE (clean install mSD), HDMI (pass through), hardwired (wifi off), attached USB3 media. This setup has served my needs and has worked well the past.

    TIA-

  • jamesdmjamesdm Posts: 20WeTek Community Member

    Questions regarding LE settings in v8:
    Do you have hw acceleration Active or Off?
    I currently have my hw set to Off & with limited viewing/testing there seems to be little effect to quality with setting to Off.

    My question is whether or not there is a preferred setting, since there was such a drama with the kodi/amlogic support being removed, and the problems experienced during the beta testing of the latest LE?
    FYI -
    My set ups are LE (clean install mSD), HDMI (pass through), hardwired (wifi off), attached USB3 media. This setup has served my needs and has worked well the past.

    TIA-

    Hw acceleration must be on to get the best quality posible.
    There's no point to disable that option.
  • Wink_DinkersonWink_Dinkerson Posts: 54WeTek Community Member
    edited February 2017
    I will activate hw acceleration (again), Thank You!
  • WhoAmIWhoAmI Posts: 119WeTek Community Member
    @Wink_Dinkerson
    Yes I agree, HW acceleration ON is definitely the best option for smooth performance.There is no issue I can see of yet with Amlogic on the Core and LE8.0.0

    My setup is exactly the same as yours (LE (clean install mSD), HDMI (pass through), hardwired (wifi off), attached USB3 media).
  • nilleiznilleiz Posts: 79WeTek Community Member
    There is an issue with hw acceleration and live tv channels that broadcast h.264 24p video material.
    Playing such channels will not work. The stream doesn't start and it says "buffering".
    Recordings of such channels will play but will have very choppy playback. (this is what I experienced with DVBViewer and DVB-C signal.

    When I disabled hw acceleration the playback worked fine, but I had no chance playing any video with resolutions higher than 1080p.
    I reenabled acceleration and set the default refresh rate for live to to 50/60hz and voila, all channels play just fine.
    I can live with that workaround.
  • WhoAmIWhoAmI Posts: 119WeTek Community Member
    The only issue I'm having is the Core gui slowing to a very slow crawl. So far viewing material on the box is non-problematic but on exiting from viewing anything the box slows down to be almost unusable. It takes a reboot to bring everything back up to normal use. It doesn't seem to matter how log you use the box for either live tv or viewing material stored on an external drive but as soon as you quit and go back to the Home screen the problems arise. All LE Jarvis releases were trouble free in this regard.
  • ninoguininogui Posts: 29WeTek Community Member
    edited February 2017
    WhoAmI said:

    The only issue I'm having is the Core gui slowing to a very slow crawl. So far viewing material on the box is non-problematic but on exiting from viewing anything the box slows down to be almost unusable. It takes a reboot to bring everything back up to normal use. It doesn't seem to matter how log you use the box for either live tv or viewing material stored on an external drive but as soon as you quit and go back to the Home screen the problems arise. All LE Jarvis releases were trouble free in this regard.

    I´m also having this problem I´m not sure but the symptoms look like memory leak although looking at maintenance tools from ares wizzard all seems ok

    other problem I have is libreelec 8 system sub menu options don´t appear on the main menu or system bars because originally the skinned libreelec they are located on the sub menu.

    Is there a way to program a kodi command to call libreelec system options onto one of the free neon or xonfluence interface slots, what would that command be ?
  • Wink_DinkersonWink_Dinkerson Posts: 54WeTek Community Member
    edited February 2017
    Not trying to be a Wendy Whiner or Debbie Downer, but LibeElec v8 just doesn't work with the Core.

    @WhoAmI I started experiencing the slow down in the gui on the one Core I was able to get v8 loaded, but remained silent since others had such positive experiences (with v8) and thought I was just unlucky with my two Cores. I visited the LE page in hopes of finding a "fix", but no fix is to be found. I attempted the usual user fixes ( clean install, no add-ons, hw accelerate on/off, new skin, etc) but nothing helped. I reverted the Core back to v7.0.3, and both Cores are running smoothly.

    I did notice that other people are having problems with the LE v8 with Wetek and on other platforms. The LE response in the forums seemed to take an "ostrich" approach of we don't see a problem, so no problem exist . Placing the blame on add ons (which I have none installed) or platform specific (contact vendor) seems to be the tone of the LE team.

    I am able to get my Cores working with older versions of LE and OE, but I would like to use the current or updated Kodi releases, although I don't know why :#
  • BarryBarry Posts: 26WeTek Community Member
    I disagree with the 'ostrich aproach' comment. I believe they are trying to do their best to resolve the issues with the information provided. I don't see one person on this thread submitting a log file to help the Dev's troubleshoot. I think a little effort on our part isn't to much to ask in return for this free software and support.
  • NedScottNedScott Posts: 1,123WeTek Community Member
    WhoAmI said:

    The only issue I'm having is the Core gui slowing to a very slow crawl. So far viewing material on the box is non-problematic but on exiting from viewing anything the box slows down to be almost unusable. It takes a reboot to bring everything back up to normal use. It doesn't seem to matter how log you use the box for either live tv or viewing material stored on an external drive but as soon as you quit and go back to the Home screen the problems arise. All LE Jarvis releases were trouble free in this regard.

    Strange. I'll poke around with my Core when I have a free moment and see if I can reproduce this.


    former WeTek Support team member, now just a friendly volunteer.
  • WhoAmIWhoAmI Posts: 119WeTek Community Member
    @Wink_Dinkerson @NedScott

    Hi guys. I also have reverted to 7.0.3 as version 8.0.0 is the first time I've encountered any problems with LE on the Core. I've spent most of my free day today testing every skin on the Kodi repo with the same results. This evening I did a completely clean install with no addons and after a period of approx 65 minutes of browsing menus and leaving the box idle it once again came to an almost standstill. A quick reboot and all works again but does eventually become unresponsive. I've also noticed lots of commentsre Wetek (and other) boxes having problems with LE version 8. Therefore, after much testing, I've reverted back to trusty old LE 7.0.3 to save me from any more headaches using 8.0.0
  • Wink_DinkersonWink_Dinkerson Posts: 54WeTek Community Member
    edited March 2017
    @Barry I do not want to seem disingenuous nor start an online argument regarding LE v8 and Core. Since LE was formed I have been in great hope that LE could be the OE replacement, which is greatly needed for the open source community. Plus LE had a cool Beta splash screen :)

    The Situation:
    I (and other Core users) have posted the exact problems of slowing to unresponsiveness in the LE gui. The gui problem has been posted/discussed/throughout the beta period. I found that when the problem occurs, the Core must be rebooted due to the gui slowing until freezing.

    My statement of "ostrich approach" is based on the responses from LE in regards to problems that are being posted (not just Core users). When reading the LE forum posts there seems to be a common response from LE to problems being reported. Either they (LE) state that they don't see any problems or they blame add-ons.

    I am using LE 7.0.3 and that seems to be working with the Core.
  • warwickmmwarwickmm Posts: 10WeTek Community Member
    I understand the frustration because I am also experiencing this issue. However, I don't think we can expect the devs to help much without providing a log file. With so many issues to resolve, why would they spend time to try and replicate an issue that is best described as "wait a long time and then the UI will slow to a crawl" when no logging information is provided? I think the typical response of "no log, no problem" is perfectly reasonable.

    I tried to capture a log here (unfortunately I stopped the debugging while playing a video, but re-enabled the log once the slowdown occurred). Will try and capture another one tonight.

    http://sprunge.us/BWZg

    By the way, has anyone posted a bug report in the LibreElec forums? I did not see one, so I created one here:

    https://forum.libreelec.tv/thread-5746.html

    Hopefully we'll have some more luck bringing this to people's attention. If anyone else is able to capture some meaningful logs while they're experiencing this issue, I highly recommend posting them to help the devs narrow down the issue.
Sign In or Register to comment.
© Copyright 2014 - Creative Dreams | Powered by Vanilla
All times are UTC